Ignorance is Bliss: The Chinese Art of Not Knowing

€ 120.99
Lieferbar in 24 Tagen
Kurzbeschreibung des Verlags:

This book examines the popular, yet puzzling, Chinese saying Nande hutu 难得糊涂 to uncover how the ancient Chinese wisdom of not knowing is constructed, interpreted, practiced and valued in contemporary society.Originating in the calligraphy of Qing-dynasty scholar Zheng Banqiao, Nande hutu translates literally as: “hard to attain muddle-headedness”. Mieke Matthyssen traces the historical development of this saying and related philosophies to reveal a culturally conditioned, multi-layered inclination to different forms of not knowing. In contemporary society, she argues, this inclination forms part of a living art: in some respects, a passive, evasive strategy for self-preservation; in other respects, a strategy for coping with intrapersonal, interpersonal and social complexities.  
Drawing on an extensive range of primary sources and original research, the analysis skillfully combines philosophical and socio-historical analysis with theory from Chinese philosophy, philosophical psychology and the relatively new field of indigenous psychology, to provide an in-depth understanding of how Nande hutu has shaped, and continues to shape, the Chinese psyche and behaviour. This book will appeal to all readers looking for fresh insights into Chinese culture, and in particular to students and scholars of Chinese and Asian studies, cultural and social anthropology, and philosophical and indigenous psychology.

Mehr Informationen
ReihePalgrave Studies in Indigenous Psychology
ISBN 9783030739010
Sprache Englisch
Ausgabe 1st ed. 2021
Erscheinungsdatum 16.06.2021
Umfang 380 Seiten
Genre Psychologie/Theoretische Psychologie
Format Hardcover
Verlag Springer International Publishing
Beiträge von Louise Sundararajan
Vorwort Jie Yang
Diese Produkte könnten Sie auch interessieren:
Mieke Matthyssen, Jie Yang, Louise Sundararajan
€ 120,99
Louise Sundararajan, Kwang-Kuo Hwang, Kuang-Hui Yeh
€ 153,99
Louise Sundararajan, Kwang-Kuo Hwang, Kuang-Hui Yeh
€ 153,99
Rachel Sing-Kiat Ting, Louise Sundararajan
€ 120,99